Lorne Babiuk receives SHRF Achievement Award (Biomedical Research)

Dec 4, 2005

From www.shrf.ca:

Winners of the new Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation Achievement Awards 2005 were announced at SHRF's annual awards dinner on December 1, 2005. These awards pay tribute to lifetime contributions individual health researchers have made to our province.

At right, the Hon. John Nilson, Minister of Saskatchewan Health (second from left), with SHRF Achievement Award 2005 winners (left to right) Dr. Jim Dosman, Dr. Lorne Babiuk and Dr. Jim Thornhill who accepted the award on behalf of Dr. Jay Kalra.

Biomedical Research - Dr. Lorne A. Babiuk
Lorne Babiuk has long been a visionary in the field of infectious-disease pathogenesis and vaccinology research. Born and raised in Saskatchewan, he received three of his four degrees from the University of Saskatchewan. He continues to work at the U of S as a scientist and teacher. In the early 1980’s, Dr. Babiuk assembled and mentored a team of researchers who developed the world’s first genetically engineered vaccines for any animal species, an accomplishment that contributed to him being named NSERC’s first Industrial Research Chair in Biotechnology. His initial involvement in the development of genetically engineered vaccines was followed by research on other novel approaches to vaccine design, and increasingly, by research in the field of human vaccinology and immunology. Repeatedly, theories crafted by Babiuk that faced initial skepticism have now become accepted knowledge. Dr. Babiuk has been active in research activities that range across the spectrum from basic discovery to product development and is a strong proponent of collaborative research. Along with being a builder of people, he is a builder of infrastructure, and has an outstanding record of expanding the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization – VIDO – to a state-of-the-art facility that is truly unique. Dr. Babiuk was recently honored as an Officer of the Order of Canada and it is our distinct pleasure this evening to add the SHRF Achievement Award 2005 for Biomedical Research to his list of accolades.